The Scottish Flag Trust

The Scottish Flag Trust was set up in 1984 by the St Andrew Society with a remit to maintain the Saltire Memorial within Athelstaneford churchyard and to encourage the proper use of the national flag. The Trust’s responsibilities have since been extended to include the upkeep and promotion of the Flag Heritage Centre which opened in 1997. The inspiration behind the Trust came from the late Dr Allan Macartney and the late Nigel Tranter, and their contribution is acknowledged at the viewpoint.

The Trust is a registered Scottish charity (SC 002778) and there are 8 Trustees who meet quarterly.

Currently the Trustees are:-

Kenneth Stewart (Treasurer)

Dr Winifred M Ewing

David M S Johnston

Robin MacCormick (Clerk)

Rina Moore

Sheena Richardson

Michael T R B Turnbull

David Williamson (Chairman)

The Trust has limited funds, but it receives generous support from over 100 “Friends” of the Trust.